The US veteran prog band gives us thrilling previews of their “Distant Memories – Live in London” playing masterfully “Fatal Tragedy” and “Pale Blue Dot”

Progressive music titans Dream Theater have just released a brand new video from their brand new (and ninth career) live album called “Distant Memories – Live in London”.

Dream Theater, coverv Live in London
Dream Theater, coverv Live in London

The new live album – out last November 27th – is the band’s first since 2014’s “Breaking the Fourth Wall”.

The video is taken from the second set of the show where James LaBrie, John Petrucci, Jordan Rudess, John Myung and Mike Mangini celebrate the band’s seminal concept album “Metropolis Part 2 – Scenes From A Memory”. This amazing live version of “Fatal Tragedy” features the US band showcasing, as usual, the expert musicianship that fans have come to expect from their live shows.

«Performing “Scenes From A Memory” live in its entirety, 20 years after its initial release, was great fun for all of us. “Fatal Tragedy” is one of the darker, heavier and more exciting songs of that album and always gets a full response from our audience!», explains to the media the guitar player John Petrucci.

Recorded at their sold-out show at the Apollo Theatre in the UK capital city, “Distant Memories – Live in London” documents the band’s popular world tour in support of their latest critically acclaimed studio album “Distance Over Time” and the 20-year anniversary of their seminal concept album “Metropolis Part 2 – Scenes From A Memory”.

Dream Theater, credit by Nidhal Marzouk
Dream Theater, credit by Nidhal Marzouk

Last but not least a monster live version of “Pale Blue Dot” (taken from “Distance Over Time”) can be seen at the end of this article. Have fun!

Distant Memories – Live in London” complete tracklist:
– Untethered Angel
– A Nightmare to Remember
– Fall into the Light
– Barstool Warrior
– In the Presence of Enemies – Part 1
– Pale Blue Dot
– Scenes Live Intro
– Scene One: Regression
– Scene Two: I. Overture 1928
– Scene Two: II. Strange Déjà Vu
– Scene Three: I. Through My Words
– Scene Three: II. Fatal Tragedy
– Scene Four: Beyond this Life
– Scene Five: Through Her Eyes
– Scene Six: Home
– Scene Seven: I. The Dance of Eternity
– Scene Seven: II. One Last Time
– Scene Eight: The Spirit Carries On
– Scene Nine: Finally Free
– At Wit’s End

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here